Reviews

great B&B - Rating 5/5

Gerry and Billy couldn't have been better hosts. Their guest house was clean and comfortable. They had good recommendations regarding sights and restaurants. Many thanks.

Reviewer:robert l | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely stay. - Rating 5/5

My 3-night stay was very comfortable and pleasant.The hosts were most accommodating and helpful, including providing a map and indicating local bus stop to city centre (easy 10 minutes) &explaining location of restaurants within walking distance.I would definitely stay here again when next in Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Sally S | Sun 27th Oct 2019 | 3 months ago


The service here can’t be beaten! - Rating 5/5

The Gil Dun is a beautiful property and the service you receive makes you feel welcome and cared for. The breakfast is wonderful and it’s one of those places you know you’ll go back to! Brilliant!

Reviewer:Helen P | Sat 26th Oct 2019 | 3 months ago


review - Rating 5/5

enjoyed the stay very much.nice room, great breakfast, very hospitable

Reviewer:Richard A | Sat 19th Oct 2019 | 3 months ago


Very Pleased - Rating 4/5

I was very happy with the friendliness, cleanliness, service, dining room decor, menu and wonderful delicious food. However I had a couple of problems like with the stairs as I have back pain all the time and because I had a single room the bathroom was down the hall. That made it difficult in the middle of the night for trips to the bathroom. Other than that I had a wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Donna L | Wed 2nd Oct 2019 | 4 months ago


Great BnB - Rating 5/5

A wonderful choice for a Edinburgh visit.Very caring people who are sincerely interested in providing great service!

Reviewer:Earl B | Sat 21st Sep 2019 | 4 months ago


Enjoyable stay for 3 nights- Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at the gill Dunn house .The breakfasts were delicious.They were very helpful giving directions on getting around town and very friendly.I would recommend the gill Dunn house to anyone

Reviewer:Jerry F | Sat 14th Sep 2019 | 5 months ago


Great start to our vacation! - Rating 4/5

Great location and lovely room. Owner was very helpful with area information. Would gladly come back.

Reviewer:Keri N | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 5 months ago


A wonderful experience - Rating 5/5

It is one of the best B&B I have ever stayed in - I have been to quite many B&B in Canada and the US.The place is very clean and decorated nicely.The room is spacious and the window of our room looks out to a beautiful backyard garden. The host offers the best breakfast we could ask for!In addition, it is very easy to get to the centre of the town by bus (it takes about 15 minutes.) If I am ever in Edinburgh again, I will definitely go back to Gil Dun.

Reviewer:Fei S | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 5 months ago


Wonderful B&B!! - Rating 5/5

Absolutely LOVED Gil Dun Guest House - very comfortable room and convenient to bus line or 25 minute walk down to the city center.Our host - Gerry - was so helpful whether for a dinner suggestion, arranging a taxi or advising of the nearest bank/ATM.Highly recomment Gil Dun Guest House!!

Reviewer:Linda M | Sun 25th Aug 2019 | 5 months ago


Charming B&B, close to public transport - Rating 5/5

We quite enjoyed our three night stay at Gil Dun Guest House. Gerry was friendly and very knowledgeable regarding Edinburgh activities, festivals, restaurants, and general inquiries. The beds were comfortable, the room was bright and airy, and breakfast was delicious. We had a special soft spot for Troy the boy, the resident dog. We will definitely recommend Gil Dun Guest House to anyone we know staying in Edinburgh. Thank you!

Reviewer:Kathryn L | Wed 21st Aug 2019 | 5 months ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

A beautiful place, quiet, well connected for transport, with lovely helpful people running it.

Reviewer:Jonathan T | Wed 21st Aug 2019 | 5 months ago


1st Trip To Scotland- Rating 5/5

When you arrive at Gil Dun and meet your hosts, you know it's going to be a great trip. Close enough to Arthur's Seat to view and also walk up to its crest, yet close enough to center city on bus lines or walking again to have a night out. Breakfast can't be beat.

Reviewer:Rande A | Wed 21st Aug 2019 | 5 months ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

This was a great place, and The hosts and breakfast were amazing.

Reviewer:Dave Y | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 6 months ago


3 Nights stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff, very spacious clean room for 3 adults, bathroom very clean;breakfast plenty on nice setting

Reviewer:Alois A | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent Stay at Gil Dun Guest House - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gil Dun. The breakfasts were wonderful!

Reviewer:Timothy B | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 6 months ago


Perfect to stay in Edimburgh - Rating 4/5

Lovely neighbourhood and kind hosts. The bedroom was comfortable and had everything that we needed. Very nice breakfast as well.

Reviewer:Nelly C | Thu 18th Jul 2019 | 7 months ago


Truely 5 Star experience! - Rating 5/5

My sister and I stayed at Gil Dun for 3 nights during our 2 week tour through Scotland. Gil Dun was by far our best &favorite B&B. Gerry &Bill are fantastic hosts! We would highly recommend staying at Gil Dun!

Reviewer:Carolynne M | Thu 18th Jul 2019 | 7 months ago


Wonderful Stay with Local Knowledge - Rating 5/5

So glad this lovely place was recommended to us, and not surprised to then see it in best guide books. Very appreciative of the quality of hospitality, and especially local knowledge - so helpful!

Reviewer:Linda M | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 7 months ago


Jerry and Troy did a great job.The accomodations and especially the breakfasts were the best.There were 4 of us - 2 adults and 2 teenagers. - Rating 5/5

Excellent service and Jerry was very helpful. The boys could do their thing on their own.Edinburgh is safe snd friendly.

Reviewer:Patricia H | Sat 6th Jul 2019 | 7 months ago


Edinburgh June 2019 - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant hotel--clean, comfortable, great hosts, close to restaurants and pubs, very convenient to downtown Edinburgh by bus (stop 1 block away).

Reviewer:Arthur D | Wed 3rd Jul 2019 | 7 months ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

We spent 3 wonderful days enjoying Edinburgh.Gerry and Bill are great hosts. Breakfasts were a very nice start to our busy days, Maggie keeps the place spotless and little Troy kept us from missing our pups.

Reviewer:patrick g | Fri 28th Jun 2019 | 7 months ago


Wonderful ! - Rating 5/5

Gil Dun Guest House was the first stop on our Scottish adventure. What a wonderful first impression! We recieved a very warm and helpful welcome from Gerry.The house and our room were very inviting,restful and spotless .Delicious breakfasts were served with a smile by the delightful Maggie. On a quiet side street with a bus stop just round the corner for quick,easy access to the city centre. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay !

Reviewer:Frank and Gayle S | Fri 28th Jun 2019 | 7 months ago


Good place to stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed the stay at Gil Dunn Guest House. The room was a good size also high ceilings. It was on a quiet cul-de-sac and was close to the bus stations that come and go to downtown. There were good restaurants withing walking distance and the staff made you feel welcome.

Reviewer:Thomas K | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 7 months ago


Nice, Quiet B&B - Rating 5/5

Very nice and accommodating. Excellent breakfast. Would recommend highly!

Reviewer:Craig O | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 8 months ago


Brilliant B&B. Would recommend- Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was brilliant.All the staff are friendly and happy to help you get the most out of your stay at there and to explore the city.

Reviewer:John C | Thu 13th Jun 2019 | 8 months ago


Wonderful stay! - Rating 5/5

We were a family of 4 adults and spent 4 nights in the family room.The space was perfect and very comfortable (both kids got their own beds). We had some special requests (late check in, early cab to airport, etc.) which were all graciously accommodated. We only met Bill once (very nice), and interacted mostly with Garry. He was a great host and enjoyed interacting with him at breakfast. Despite being busy he always took time to answer questions, give touring advice, and simply interact. Loved everything about Gil Din, location, food, room and service! Would return in a heartbeat and recommend the place to all heading to this beautiful city!

Reviewer:keith i | Tue 11th Jun 2019 | 8 months ago


WARM WELCOME AND PERFECT STAY - Rating 5/5

As a large family with our 5 year old girl, we enjoyed very much the charmful house and the scottish welcome of Troy boy and the team.

Reviewer:P | Mon 27th May 2019 | 8 months ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

This was our first time to Scotland, and what a great way to kick off our trip with a stay at the Gil Dun House.Gerry and Bill are very accommodating not only within their home but also with advice on how to tackle Edinburgh.Breakfast each morning was wonderful and all you need to get through the day.I did not know that I would like beans and tomatoes with my eggs, but I had them every morning!Thank you both for a lovely stay!We would highly recommend the Gil Dun House if you are staying in Edinburgh.Cory and Eric

Reviewer:Corinne R | Fri 24th May 2019 | 8 months ago


My favorite place! - Rating 5/5

Out of the 8 places I stayed while traveling to Scotland and Ireland, the Gil Dun Guest House was my favorite!Bill and Maggie were so friendly and welcoming, the linens were of good quality, and the breakfast was huge!Thank you so much for your hospitality, and for letting me stay at your lovely Guest House.I really hated to leave!

Reviewer:Karen de P | Tue 21st May 2019 | 9 months ago


Excellent service, quiet neighborhood - Rating 5/5

The Gil Dun was a great stay. Bill and Maggie were excellent hosts and were very helpful. The location was very convenient to tourist destinations with a less than 10 minute bus ride. It is located on a very quiet cul-de-sac that had ample parking. I would definitely stay again on a return trip.

Reviewer:Garrett C | Wed 15th May 2019 | 9 months ago


Gil Dun Guest house - Edinburgh - April 2019 - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay in Edinburgh, quiet and lovely with fine amenities and service. Easy and pleasant walking to the city centre (or good bus service if you don’t want to walk), good selection of restaurants in the neighborhood. And Gerry is a great host, very helpful and generous with advice and local tips. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Connie W | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 9 months ago


Great guest house - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Gil Dun Guest House very much. The room was tastefully furnished and in a very good condition, as well as the bathroom. The breakfast leaves nothing to be desired. Th guest house is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac, but the old town can be reached easily by some bus lines. We will return!

Reviewer:Christian S | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 9 months ago


Great Hospitality and Accommodations - Rating 5/5

The Gil Dun House was a fantastic place to stay. It was close to the bus stop that took you straight into town and had parking if you bring a car. The staff are great and helped with everything we needed. Breakfast was also great in the morning and they even set up a little early so we could get out early on our departure. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Kasey B | Fri 26th Apr 2019 | 9 months ago


Great Hospitality and Accommodations - Rating 5/5

The Gil Dun House was a fantastic place to stay. It was close to the bus stop that took you straight into town and had parking if you bring a car. The staff are great and helped with everything we needed. Breakfast was also great in the morning and they even set up a little early so we could get out early on our departure. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Kasey B | Fri 26th Apr 2019 | 9 months ago


Very friendly people- Rating 5/5

I stayed here for two nights and found the Guest House very warm and welcoming, Jerry and Bill was very very nice could do enough for me and the bed was very comfy I slept like a log, Hope to stay here again when in Edinburgh

Reviewer:Mrs Grace H | Wed 24th Apr 2019 | 9 months ago


Good-better-best - Rating 5/5

Loveley B&B:clean, comfortable, good beds!The best breakfast you can get.Ever so nice and very helpful owners.

Reviewer:Helga M | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 10 months ago


B&B avec un haut niveau de prestation - Rating 5/5

Je recommande chaudement ce B&B pour la sympathie de son hôte, Jerry, la qualité du petit déjeuner (excellent et genereux) et le confort de la chambre. Le tout dans un quartier calme et proche de Old Town. Un excellent rapport qualité-prix.

Reviewer:Camille L | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 10 months ago


A Wonderful Stay at the Gil Dun Guest House! - Rating 5/5

Thank you to Gerry and Bill for an amazing stay at their wonderful B &B! Their house is lovely with so many thoughtful touches, and the quiet location was an easy bus ride to the city center. We also appreciated all of the information that Bill shared with us about the wonderful city of Edinburgh. The full Scottish breakfast was amazing--kudos to Bill! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

Reviewer:KATHLEEN DE G | Thu 4th Apr 2019 | 10 months ago


Superior Accomodations - Rating 5/5

What a fantastic guest house! I'm so glad to have found it through a suggestion by Rick Steve's Travel. Gerry is the penultimate host and helper. Rooms were very updated, clean and lovely. Locations is SO easy to travel to from city center by busses that leave seemingly constantly. Just a couple minutes on the bus and you are transported out of the hustle, bustle into a lovely neighborhood that has nice pubs nearby and a sense of calm. I would highly recommend staying at the Gil Dun House!

Reviewer:Sarah W P | Tue 5th Mar 2019 | 11 months ago


very charming stay - Rating 5/5

great hospitality and charming owner, helpful advices. I was very pleased and can awalys recommended

Reviewer:M | Wed 7th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay in this wonderfull guesthouse very much. Our host Gerard was very friendly and helpfull. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast absolutely delicious.

Reviewer:Metz, M | Fri 2nd Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Special B&B - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B with delicious, full breakfast, easy access by bus or taxi to sites and a charming host. If steps are a problem, request a room on the ground level.

Reviewer:Marcia Ellen Z | Sun 28th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


A wonderful guest house! - Rating 5/5

I stayed there for four nights. It's an amazing guest house that staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room is super clean and comfortable. The Scottish breakfasts are fabulous. I strongly recommend it.

Reviewer:Janet Jing F | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


A good B&B choice for Edinburgh - Rating 4/5

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights in October and were quite satisfied.The owner was very courteous and helpful.He made restaurant reservations for us and arranged a taxi to take us to the airport upon our departure.the breakfast were excellent with many choices including a full cooked Scottish breakfast.The location was convenient to the bus route into the center of town and we were able to walk to good restaurants.The only downsides were the very stiff towels and the tiny bathroom.However the bathroom was well equipped with toiletries and did have a nice shower and enough space to get by.We would definitely stay here again if we return to Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Chris P | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


3 nights in Edinburgh- Rating 5/5

Lovely environment, well informed and helpful owner/managers.Very helpful with both directions around town and places to dine.Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Ralph C | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely Guest House - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house and accommodations. Loved the location and easy access to historical sites. Obvious attention to detail in making a traveler feel comfortable and happy. Hosts Jerry and Bill were awesome and I appreciated their efforts to make our stay an enjoyable one. Would definitely stay at Gil Dun Guest House and recommend it to others.

Reviewer:Barbara S | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


All I needed, and more. - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, warm and friendly in both facilities and hosts.

Reviewer:Garth J | Tue 9th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Wonderful accommodation with emphasis on comfort. Hosts were very helpful, willing to assist with our questions and needs. It was a pleasure to stay at Gil Dun Guest House and would readily recommend this guest house to others.

Reviewer:Barbara S | Sat 6th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Beautiful accommodations, very comfortable surroundings. Great attention to details. Gracious and friendly staff who went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable experience.

Reviewer:Barbara S | Fri 5th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent choice - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B in a good neighborhood with easy access to restaurants and city bus lines to the city centre.Fantastic hot breakfast and a charming host, Gerry.

Reviewer:Marcia Ellen Z | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Helpful host - Rating 5/5

A very hospitable place with an extraordinarily friendly landlord!

Reviewer:Nicole B | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Everything perfect! - Rating 5/5

This is the BEST guest house-the hosts are delightful, the breakfast delicious, the rooms spotless.The location is perfect for exploring Edinburgh.There are bus stops within a couple hundred yards of the guest house.We didn’t have a car and were able to get around easily.A beautiful park is 1/2 mile away.

Reviewer:Patricia H | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Great place. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Gevan M | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A great choice in Edinburgh! - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay in Edinburgh!The Gil Dun Guest House is just far enough off of a main road to be quiet and close enough to be convenient for buses and restaurants.My room was a single, so it was small, but carefully decorated and comfortable.Breakfast was delicious, well-cooked and plentiful, and arrangements were made for the days that I left too early for a cooked breakfast.I felt safe and any questions or requests that I had were dealt with promptly and with good humor.I stayed at the Gil Dun at the end of a 3 week trip and it was the best accommodation that I booked!(Disclaimer-My private bathroom was down the hall which was no problem for me, I believe my ‘single’ was the only one with this arrangement.)

Reviewer:Mary Ann B | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A great choice in Edinburgh! - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay in Edinburgh!The Gil Dun Guest House is just far enough off of a main road to be quiet and close enough to be convenient for buses and restaurants.My room was a single, so it was small, but carefully decorated and comfortable.Breakfast was delicious, well-cooked and plentiful, and arrangements were made for the days that I left too early for a cooked breakfast.I felt safe and any questions or requests that I had were dealt with promptly and with good humor.I stayed at the Gil Dun at the end of a 3 week trip and it was the best accommodation that I booked!(Disclaimer-My private bathroom was down the hall which was no problem for me, I believe my ‘single’ was the only one with this arrangement.)

Reviewer:Mary Ann B | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Super helpful - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay, very cosy.Sadly we had cause to call an ambulance on our last day and the guys couldn't have been more helpful.Genuinely a very nice place to stay.

Reviewer:Helen T | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Terrific Place - Gerry is the best! - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it.Very clean and nicely furnished rooms and breakfast was wonderful.Gerry is a terrific host and runs a great place.He was very helpful with tips on the area and local restaurants. We would stay here again if in town again.

Reviewer:Garold O | Fri 14th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Gil Dun is excellent! - Rating 5/5

Clean, comfortable rooms with great service and an accommodating attitude.This B&B has everything you want in reasonably priced accommodations with easy access to bus stop less than a block away.Full Scottish breakfast daily.We would go back again and again.

Reviewer:Nora B | Sun 2nd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Three nights at Gil Dun... - Rating 5/5

We loved everything about the Gil Dun Guest House:fabulous breakfast, welcoming and informative hosts, comfortable bed and super-convenient location. I won’t hesitate to recommend this B&B.

Reviewer:Mrs. June M | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Three nights at Gil Dun... - Rating 5/5

We loved everything about the Gil Dun Guest House:fabulous breakfast, welcoming and informative hosts, comfortable bed and super-convenient location. I won’t hesitate to recommend this B&B.

Reviewer:Mrs. June M | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Charming Guest House - Rating 5/5

I stayed at Gil-Dun while visiting Scotland with my daughter and 11-year old grandson.The accommodations were quite comfortable. William and Jerry have created a warm and welcoming atmosphere in their charming guest house. We liked the quiet cul-de-sac location. We were treated every morning to a delicious breakfast, which included all the traditional Scottish breakfast foods. William and Jerry were happy to help us with information about sites in the city, places to eat, and where to find the nearest ATM. They arranged taxi transportation for us when we needed it. I would definitely recommend this lovely guest house to travelers who enjoy the bed and breakfast experience.

Reviewer:Ms. Susan R | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Our stay in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

We had a very comfortable stay at Gil Dun Guest House. A warm welcome when we arrived. A lovely room,spotless and cosy. A great breakfast and and easy bus ride or walk into Edinburgh centre. We would stay again if we returned to Edinburgh. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs Jill J | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


One bedroom private bath - Rating 5/5

Awesome large breakfast with lots of options. Nice room, clean. I had a room with a private bathroom down the hall and was provided a robe. I think the rest of the rooms had baths ensuite.

Reviewer:Jeffrey B | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed 4 nights and really appreciated this lovely B&B. Peaceful view of a lovely garden and very quiet - felt like a piece of the countryside in the city. Clean, comfortable room, very good breakfast, great location. The people were very kind and delightful. Definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Karen D | Fri 8th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent service and facilities - Rating 5/5

Great location for getting around. Facilities were outstanding. Staff were excellent! Thank you!

Reviewer:Steve and Margie G | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Gil Dun Guest House - Rating 5/5

Great breakfast. Adorable decor. The best host, so helpful with directions, bus routes, eatery recommendations etc. Easy to make reservations. Great location.

Reviewer:Barbara P | Tue 5th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Delightful bed and breakfast in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

We had a marvelous stay at Gil Dun Guest House and highly recommend it. Gerry, the manager/owner, is extremely helpful on how the take the bus into the city center (a quick 10 minute trip), places to eat nearby and other tips on Edinburgh. The rooms are light, airy, well maintained, comfortable and quite. Great beds and showers. The breakfasts were the best we had during our 16 day stay in Scotland - lots of variety and very well prepared food. Part of our party arrived early in the morning and Gerry offered them breakfast before they even checked in! This guest house is a must stay while in Edinburgh!

Reviewer:Teresa S | Sat 5th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfection - Rating 5/5

Very hard to fault. We stayed for a week and loved it. Our room was small and the bathroom tiny, but it was clean and comfortable and blissfully quiet. The wonderful breakfasts in the elegant dining room (linen table napkins &starched white table cloths with Ella Fitzgerald playing quietly in the background) were a daily treat.The servings were generous and it was hard not to over indulge.

Reviewer:David N | Sun 15th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Great time at Gil Dun - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Gil Dun. Gerry is a great host. He made us feel very much at home, and was full of good tips on things to do around Edinburgh. The breakfasts were top notch, the location is very good, just a fairly short bus ride from central Edinburgh, and is on a quiet cul de sac. We will definitely go back for our next trip to Edinburgh.

Reviewer:James D M | Mon 2nd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Contact

Gil Dun Guest House
9 Spence Street
Edinburgh
Mid Lothian
EH16 5AG

0131 667 1368
Fax: 0131 668 4989
E-Mail